A picture is worth a thousand clicks….

basic

I flew into San Antonio recently for a work-related event and spotted these young folks lined up near the baggage claim area. The single file lines and the large, manila envelopes gave them away: they were on their way to Air Force Basic Training!

I stood in this very same line, with one of those same envelopes, back in 1988. I could not resist the temptation to joke with them so I had to think fast. I spotted two nuns waiting for luggage. I pointed them out to the young airmen and told them that I had asked the nuns to say a prayer for them. I got a few chuckles, a few wide eyes, but mostly that deer-in-the-headlights look.

I posted this photo on several military themed Facebook pages and received thousands of hits and hundreds of comments. I did not state where these kids were going, only that I was in San Antonio and that I noticed the lines and the envelopes. I asked the social networks “Where do you suppose they could be going?” It did not take long for the responses to start rolling, and everybody knew the correct answer. This photo brought back a lot of memories for a lot of people.

Basic training: a fun-filled eight weeks for any young man or woman.

I thanked them for making the commitment to serve our country and advised them to volunteer for nothing, never be first, or last, and to keep their mouths shut — and that they’d they be fine.

-30-

 

7 thoughts on “A picture is worth a thousand clicks….

  1. Daylight arrival? I arrived in the dead of night. I figured that was on purpose, just to make it more intimidating. Actually, it was a great experience and kudos to those new troops.

    • My 2AM arrival was in 1981. In-processing then barracks. Sleep for an hour then chow hall and the barber. I wonder what we’d all say to ourselves if we had the opportunity to go back and talk to ourselves on that day.

  2. Back in 1971 I left Montana and due to storms the airlines bounced me around the country; Denver, Salt Lake, El Paso, finally arriving in San Antonio at 0400. I was the only one arriving at that hour and joined my squadron just as everyone was waking up for our first full day in the AF. How little I knew it would change my life.

    • I had a similar experience in Feb ’74. the storm hit the entire country. those of us flying out of PA were sent to Chicago, landed in one airport then bussed out to another, sent to Dallas-Fort Worth (in a construction mode back then) then bussed to San Antonio. Everyone was late for the last time!

  3. I believe everything said made a lot of sense. However, think on this, what if you were to write a awesome post title?
    I ain’t saying your information is not solid., however suppose you added something that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean A picture is worth a thousand
    clicks…. | Reast1’s Blog is a little plain. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s
    home page and note how they write article
    headlines to get people to click. You might add
    a video or a related picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

